Drugged

Image

Over the last 100 years, the Western mind–once exalted and drawn out of lethargy and conformity through 2000-some years of philosophy and growth–has been stunted and dulled through the resurgence of a certain controlled substance. It has taken the mind–free to fly and drift on the air without the shackles of broken thought and darkened perception to hold it down–and made it dumb and soft.

Not only does it affect the mind, but it affects the body. Muscle tissue breaks down and becomes weak and stiff/ Through consistent use of this particular drug, one becomes constrained to the confines of their home, unable to leave or even move about. The eyes grow weak and blood flow constricts to major arteries. Endorphins flow excessively and the mind becomes chemically addicted to the rush that the high causes–and becomes unable to function without it. People say it’s not actually addictive: “I can quit anytime I want.”

And what to do, when a drug is socially acceptable? Especially prevalent is the use amongst my generation–those young adults coming and going from college. But the epidemic is widespread, and shows no signs of stopping. I personally have a couple dealers who will supply me and my friends with a fix at just about any time of the day.

However, it depends on your region. Some more restrictive sub-cultures have placed restrictions on this substance–but they are rapidly shrinking. Legalization is sweeping the nation. California especially is on the forefront of this push, and has been for a number of years.

And I admit, I’ve used for years. I was introduced right about the time I got into college, and what was initially just a recreational drug quickly turned into a solid, full-fledged addiction. I used it to relax, I used it to fill time, I used it to fall asleep. And I was unequivocally addicted. Whenever I had any free time, it was time to get high–whether it was alone or with someone else–it was just what I did. Hours and hours every day, wasted on some substance that was dictating the way I thought and dulling my mind to everything else around me.

So I decided to get clean. I’m not expecting to be perfect in my sobriety; who ever is? I’m not even going to say I won’t miss it; I like having something to fill my days up. But I am going to try to improve, to turn my focus to more worthwhile things, and make better use of my body and mind. And I’d challenge everyone reading this who struggles with this particular substance to do the same.

Turn the damn TV off and go do something worth doing.

Leave a Reply

